Challenge *I love me a good one*

There are no great people in this world, only great challenges which ordinary people rise to meet ~ William Fredrick Halsey

We all say we love a good challenge … at least I always say so, especially when doing job interviews. The reason I say that, is because I don’t really know what I’m getting myself into and I assume it’s going to be challenging. To be honest, I say it out of assumption … out of assumption that I can handle whatever comes my way. I have never looked into what the word challenge means because it’s one of those things that you have drilled in your head since *I can’t recall when* that challenge = difficult situation. So when you are facing a challenge it’s automatically something difficult that you are not used to … more like a hurdle that you are supposed to overcome.

Challenge – Calling for full use of one’s abilities or resources in a difficult but stimulating effort

Am I the only one who used to think (when I was younger that is), that challenges were for smart people? I used to hear the word challenge and I’m like … whoa! That sounds big … like can I really face a challenge … how now? To be honest I don’t even know how I got it in my head that a challenge is out of this world. And when someone asked the greatest challenge I’ve ever faced? My mind chews a lock because I never thought that I had come across one yet. I don’t really know what I was expecting it to be as much as I knew the meaning.

I remember even way before I started blogging or even thought of it I used to think that writing is the most difficult thing ever. That’s the reason I hated languages … I had a strong liking for sciences for that sole reason. I used to think and still do that expressing myself is quite difficult. I can bet not so many people realize that … I am an “extrovert” so there are some things that people don’t realize unless there’s a situation that would place you as the recipient of my lack of expressionism (Good Lord! is there a word like that…lol). I can try explain something in more than 10 ways and in all the 10 ways I will assume you’ve not understood what I am trying to say, so I will try to look for other ways to explain it. Coming to think of it that’s so dumb,  maybe that’s how my blondeness gets revealed…lol

Anyway, I sort of love reading what other people write … “sort of”  because I’m a very selective reader, I can very easily get bored. I mostly like stuff with a story line maybe that’s why all the techie stuff as much as I’m supposed to be a techie by virtue of what I studied is just not fitting into my personality … no wonder programming and networking did not tickle my fancy in as much as I forced.

So back to before I started blogging, I used to read what people write (including magazines, novels, journals, blogs) and wonder how they do that, these guys must be super creative. Please note that my English teacher had told me I am not creative…lol, I should meet her today. What she didn’t notice is the fear I had to express myself. All my compositions and insha’s (Swahili compositions) rotated around … my neighbors being thugged … wasn’t that a good sign that I feared going beyond that. Kenyan teachers should learn psychology #ithink do they?

My fear of being creative was based on the fact that I was scared of creating a fictitious story then it comes true and no I’m not supersticious…I used to think (partly still do) what you say becomes…like if I say someone is sick, they’ll become sick. And I believe that’s why even today I write stuff on life happenings and not fiction, also could be the reason I’m a bad liar.

What I have come to realize is that we are all ordinary people … I mean if you scrape off all this external things like status, clothing, money bleh bleh! What makes us different is that extra effort we make to be extraordinary to get there … it’s how we work with our challenges that makes all the difference. I can be sure to tell you I haven’t made it in life, I’m still working to get there, I don’t know where though haha I bet my “self actualization stage” I’m still on the lower levels (Okay maybe between 2nd and 4th) of the Maslow’s hierarchy of needs … phew! A good way to explain where I want to get and where I am with few words.

However, if I’m asked today what’s my greatest challenge?  I think it’s overcoming my fear of expression especially through writing and then sharing with others. I have no idea how I did that because I just started writing stuff one day and the rest as we know is history. There are many others I must say, although this one is the one I still try to figure out how it exactly happened because I didn’t have to but I did and it took a lot of unknown courage.

Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful ~ Joshua J. Marine

Signing Off ~~~ *Kawi*

4 thoughts on “Challenge *I love me a good one*

  1. Pingback: Great website for homeschooling children with learning disabilities | Arms Open Wide

  2. Pingback: Reflection 4: Horizon Report | Astria & EDIT 2000

Leave a Reply

