The Million Dollar Question?

Even after I said “YES”, the first question that ran through my mind was, “how did you know the size of my finger?” I was too curious, because that would have been my only selling point.

The story, now that’s the question everyone has been asking of late. I’m not the best at narrating the same story over and over. But it seems for this season that I’m in, I need to get used to it and, that this bling sure does bring a lot of attention. I didn’t see myself in this phase this soon, and maybe that’s why the mister managed to sneak away with it. I was being very futuristic, I didn’t want to give him pressure in as much as all of you out there gave me pressure *looks at you, you and you*. I just wanted to go with the flow.

And with the flow I went. He’s a sneaky one, because on that Saturday 19th April, it was my turn on the rotter to work. He diligently dropped me at work, no signs whatsoever except him booking me for the day and night. All through work, I felt like I was in a daze, which made me think with the weather change I could be in the process of catching a cold. However, I wrote a post too, it was too pressing, I had learnt a couple of things that week through him and with him. Time to go home, I call him just to give him a heads up, and he offers to come back and pick me up. He’d done this a couple of times before so again, it felt normal.

When he picks me up, he hands me a gift bag and inside is perfume. WOW! He had chosen a yummy scent that I immediately adopted as My Scent. I was still in a daze. Let me explain the state, “happy and floaty for no reason, so it just feels a little awkward”. Does that make some sense?

photo (4)

So we go grab something to bite and go home to watch some flicks looking forward to dinner. This Easter was pretty chilled out with no out-of-town plans (contrary to what we had earlier planned). So I was looking forward to the food, he was clearly looking forward to other grander things. If only I knew. I would have bought a new dress…lol. When evening reaches, he nudges me and tells me to dress-up. With his special line “we can’t be late for this one.” You know we women and our delaying tactics, I got it from my mum.  I was on time this time round, funny enough I didn’t even  give him a hard time getting dressed up. Normally I’d be in jeans but that day, I was very willing to dress up.

Out we went, where? “It’s a surprise,” he says. We check in to Serena and I’m like aha, but the “Captains Table at The Mandhari Restaurant” AHA! I only see all that attention in movies. And the attention is from when you check in to when you’re leaving the building. God bless those lovely waiters.  With a whole bottle of Moet to ourselves, if I knew what was going on, I’d have had a photographer on speed-dial. We just had make do with what we had by ourselves and the new fad – selfies to make memories. I loved the privacy, he knows me too well.

KawiSnippets, Engaged

1. I, very clueless  2. The Mandhari Restaurant Menu 3. Moet, 4. So sparkly, champagne ain’t the yummiest beverage at first but the taste grows on you. 5. The Master of selfies, takes us one. 6. Healthy starter – with wheat, nuts and all things healthy. 7. Mushroom Soup 8. Chicken Soup, 9. with a Quail egg to compliment (even with all the hype, I’d never eaten one yet, there’s a 1st for everything) – It had a name, I can’t remember. 10. Chefs special – Shrimp (with things in it) – I could have eaten more of those, too yummy for just one. 11. Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes – Pure yumminess in a cup plate. I’m now a potato person – being the person who hated potatoes in her food, but with cheese & butter anything is possible. 12. Pork Ribs. 13. Lamb Chops. 14, 15, 16. Those are two happy & grateful people.

It looks like my main word is yummy. It’s either yummy or not yummy. In a nut shell that’s how the evening went down of course followed with a nigh-out with a couple we look up to (not the parents haha, Mr & Mrs Ngigi). I was overwhelmed with joy. Too overwhelmed that we forgot to take pics of the dessert which the waiter said “comes served very hot.” Eh it was hot when she flung open the lid and I saw petals, a box ring and my boyfriend down on one knee.

No, I didn’t cry, not just yet. I think I was too surprised that he decided that it’s about time he “put a ring on my fatty-fatty finger”. I had asked God to give me someone I’ll be ready to spend the rest of my interesting life with. And with him, I felt that this was it. We have been together through the murks and the light as well, we’re growing together, we try up lift each other when either of us is down, we share the same values, beliefs and principles, he loves me all the time, even when I get to his nerves – like when I give completely wrong directions. He’s my all-weather friend. What more could I ask for? I am thankful to God that he’s taken his time to bring closer to me my life partner and we’re on the same page.

Engagement

For the next chapter, there’s no pressure. We’ll arrange it how we know it best, with the help of those who want the best for us. In all honesty, I’m the most clueless of bride-to-be, but we’ll sail through with God’s blessings. Can’t wait for that day and the lifetime to follow though.

To him,

Have a lovely week, now won’t you? To a wonderful journey we’ll have on here. Lot’s of love, light & peace from us to you.

Signing Off ~~~ *Kawi*

 

21 thoughts on “The Million Dollar Question?

  1. You have narrated this beautiful beginning to you life-long love story, so well. Now whenever someone asks you how it happened just forward the link. To many happy days.

  2. Congratulations Kawi and Dion. I wish both of you the very best. Please always keep God first because clearly he answered your prayers in meeting the person you want to spend the rest of your life with. Always be thankful to him. I leave you with nothing but God’s abundant blessings as you start this impeccable journey with each other. Cheers

    • Thank you Lydia, this is one blessing I can never take for granted and since I prayed for it, I thank God everyday make it happen in his time :-) really appreciate you passing by.

  3. Awesome!!! Congratulations love. I’m happy that you found love in someone who compliments you and is a friend. All the best as you plan for your big day and prepare for the rest of your life together. God’s speed and blessings through your new journey.

    • Thank you Sylvia. I’m really excited about this new journey, as clueless as I am about planning & all. Yes, God’s speed :-) bless you dear.

  4. I am not the teary type, in fact I am of the difficult-with-tears type but I sure feel misty! Aiaie! Amazing, I mean I am not marriage-inclined to put it like that but this was soo beautiful. I will expect an invite when the time comes :) Congratulations. I wish you all the best that life can give to two beautiful souls in love.

  5. congratulations!!!!!!
    been following your blog and i must say its about time,no pressure though..but you deserve all the best..

  6. CONGRATULATIONS!!! ^_^ Such a wonderful love story this is! You both deserve all the joy in this world. Thanks for sharing your story. I’m still mushy and all ^^, God bless your beautiful souls for no one shall put asunder what God has brought together :) :)

  7. Kawi…si am super Happy and excited for you..Congrats!!Love the way you never gave in to Pressure from guyz and just went with the flow that’s Amazing and yet tough.@Dion Big up!!Finally the long awaited Engagement went down.
    Oooooh!!! and the offer for being your “flowergal” still stands….he..he..

  8. congrats again gal, it felt like a stori of my life too, when it happened i was totally clueless, too shocked to even have tears of joy. All da best in planning the big day and spending your life with ur bestfriend.

    • Thank you Janice :-) congratulations to you too dear. It’s amazing when someone relates to what you’re trying to say…it was a super feeling.

  9. Pingback: What Next? | Kawi Snippets

  10. Finally..I KNOW how it went down…I have been super busy…havent had a chance ti see you…congratulations you two…onto the next one:-) babies perhaps :-)

Leave a Reply

