Road Rage

Thought road rage is only for drivers, wrong, passengers get the full experience of it. Especially if you travel by public means.

Road Rage -- Gets me charging like a bull

Yesterday, as I was headed home in the evening after an exhausting day, I walk to the stage and enter the matatu Public Service Vehicle(PSV). I’ve settled down on my sit and am just thinking, I can’t wait to reach home. The matatu environment is not the best. There’s the closed windows that makes it stuffy and there’s the loud bursting music that makes you feel like your eardrums are going to get perforated. Then the worst moment comes when in a 3 seater place the conductor forces a 4th person. And being in the evening some people just smell of serious sweat Hardworking Citizen and they are just rubbing against you. Anyway that’s not the big deal here,

The way the driver is driving is just it. Gosh, you would think he’s transporting cows to the slaughter room. I thought PSV’s have a speed limit of 80km/h this dude is doing about 100-120km/h on a road that should only be doing 50km/h like half the time you’re heart is in your mouth #TheTraumer Then he refers to the passengers as pesa. You’d hear the conductor say something like “beba pesa” — carry money.

To be honest I felt like if only I was #Makmende I would take the conductor and the driver and bang their heads together i mean like the way I would play a cymbal. Because all through the journey I’m cursing out, you know all the S words I can think of. Really, I would want to be having happy thoughts on my way home. Not thinking what would happen if we had an accident #BadThoughts.

The worst people to have a road rage with is the PSV drivers and conductors, because they just don’t care, they are either probably high on some drug or wondering how they are going to make money in the next round they are carrying passengers. By the time I came to realize this, I have alighted the matatu with some burning anger, Chimney like or say charging bull, venting out all the anger! Those guys are experts in Saddism, they can totally ruin your day.

The only medicine is Ignore, Ignore, Ignore until you buy a car. Involvement with them is just a waste of time and energy. It’s like arguing with a fool, don’t get me wrong I’m not calling them fools am just likening the situation, since it’s the same anyway…lol, you just end up looking like one of them. Which is not a good thing. On the contrary, you can wish them a lovely evening (turn anger into joy) … it’s a fulfilling feeling … I have tried it. Though it was uncalled for, am sure he was left thinking, okay, what did I do to deserve that πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Road Rage

  1. I had a somewhat simila post the other day…about what I hate about our silly good-for-nothing PSV mats! And it doesnt stop there! Even the goddammned busses are as silly as they look.

    Ever tried Paradiso on route 45?

    Ndakwira!

    Like

  2. @Joliea I used to live in Githurai and those buses are the worst.

    @Kawi Am quite impatient and so am usually in glee when the matatus speed kiasi. But it gets to a point and i just have to whisper prayers lest anything bad happens.

    Like

  3. and when u buy the car, it gets worse..the matatu drivers will treat u like an ant on the road..criss crossing as they change lanes, sudden halts to pick up or drop off passengers, overlapping aimlessly and after witnessing ten or so near misses one comes and forces a not so intimate relationship with ur car!! a scratch that will make even the best of days go dark!!

    Like

      • I know…that can be quite frustrating…i mean they actually bully you on the road. And they are always on the wrong, but it’s better if you just don’t bring it up with them…or better yet just give them way…even when they’re overlapping #neverneed to spoil you’re day.

        Like

Leave a Reply

