Age Ain’t Nothing But a Number.

I’m an avid supporter of the statement “Age ain’t nothing but a number”, I mean, I should even be told to write an essay on that, but seeing as me and essay’s have a very complicated relationship. Up until now, if I’m told to write an essay I would just freeze, the whole arrangement and looking for words to best fit or make you look brilliant and knowledgeable. Maybe that’s the reason I’m now into blogging, I can write in any order. I like that.

Okay, loosing trail of my topic at hand.

This is what I think of age, I respect my elders, that’s a rule my parents have brought me up with. So that’s not what I will really blubber about. I just have this belief that if you are in a certain age-group, you shouldn’t feel so old for others. So on my age groups:

18-35, 36-55, 55 and above.

And those two age-groups in particular. I shall not go beyond 55 because that will be pushing it. I mean, if over 55, is some bow downs and serious respect you know what i mean, age of retirement, as a result it means that you have experienced almost everything and now you need to just sit, relax and enjoy life…and that’s why my imaginative mind can’t run beyond 55 *read fifte fae…lol*, am still on the hustling stage.

“The process of maturing is an art to be learned, an effort to be sustained. By the age of fifty (50) you have made yourself what you are, if it is good, it is better than your youth.” ~ Marya Mannes

Anyway back to my two groups, So here goes the 1st,

18-35

This is that ‘young age’ that you should take full advantage (with all the craze) of, it sort of spells out how the next age group will be. There’s a 17 years difference between the two digits. But in my tender age (lol) I have come to realize that the people in this group think alike, they go through similar experiences just that some can be easier than others while others can be more difficult, but when put on a table they can relate quite well for that matter.

Some tend to feel older by virtue of the years they  have lived since birth, but when it comes to experience you can find that the younger soul has more of it. As much as of course the older one won’t agree.

I say this because when I look at my friends they are all of different ages younger and older, and what interests me and I believe you as well is the level of maturity, It’s the:

  1. The content this person has,
  2. What they talk about,
  3. What they think,
  4. What they do,
  5. How they present themselves to others given certain situations,
  6. How they dress and carry themselves around (behavior),
  7. How  they react in given a circumstance.

This few things don’t just come about because you are 28yrs, it’s runs across the board, at all ages, one can be 18 and very mature as well as someone can be 35 and very immature. I stumbled upon a few quotes about maturity and I thought I should share.

“Maturity has more to do with what types of experiences you’ve had, and what you’ve learned from them, and less to do with how many birthdays you’ve celebrated.” ~ Unknown

“’Age’ is the acceptance of a term of years. But maturity is the glory of years.” ~ Martha Graham

“To make mistakes is human; to stumble is commonplace; to be able to laugh at yourself is maturity.”

And it’s for that reason, age difference in relationships is never my number one elimination method. You just never know. Though extending to the next age group is more like suicide because different views, generations – unless you want to be treated like the full baby…hehe i doubt

And onto my next,

36-55

“Thirty-five is when you finally get your head together and your body starts falling apart” ~ Caryn Leschen …. Lol, Just Kidding.

Let me tell you, this are the most interesting people to hang out with, because they take care of you. And joke about everything they have been through in life. They take “It’s never that serious ” to another level. They advice you on the paths that you shouldn’t or should follow based on their experiences and those of other people they have heard of.

But anytime I make friends who are in this age-group, I am proud to be associated with them. They are keepers, they are the kind who say:

and wait you hear it, you’ll laugh to rib aches (ha just kidding).

What I would say to the age group is,

“Do not regret growing older. It is a privilege denied to many” ~ Author Unknown

Now you want to know why women don’t like saying their age? I still don’t know.

But being a woman, I could say sometimes it’s more fun when someone doesn’t judge you by your age, but instead by who you are as an individual minus the age if that makes sense. You could be old (which is a privilege by the way, Thank God for living long) but very young at heart.

All I can say is that,

“You are as young as your faith, as old as your doubt; as young as your self-confidence, as old as your fear; as young as your hope, as old as your despair” ~ Douglas MacArthur

Signing off — *Kawi*

8 thoughts on “Age Ain’t Nothing But a Number.

    • Thanks babe *can’t stop smiling already*
      mmmh! attempting to break rules of engagement…oh tell me about it..Ha! but I guess it’s never that serious..LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

