Please all = Please none

Yikes! Where did I get all this confidence to share my blog in public … sometimes I question  if it was really a good idea because considering I write posts mainly on life happenings, I’m sure some people who are part of my life probably read and think ‘oh my she’s written about me…lol’ and chances are that they are the last people on my head as I write … this stuff is very random … some of them are fictitious, I just think of situations and sh*& like that.

Anyway, if there’s one thing I have come to realize is that you cannot please everyone. One way or another in your endeavors, you will always rub a couple of people the wrong way. Why? The reason, quite simple, we are all different. Hence the phrase, “One man’s meat is another man’s poison”. I bet whoever came up with that had that in mind.

When I was younger *cough*choke*cough* , I was the kind of person who wanted to make everyone happy, pleased … in short “hear no evil, see no evil, speak no evil” … little miss goody two shoes was me, wants to see the world smile back at me. Thing is I never used to pretend, I was just nice (not that I have changed) … lol, but I used to care so much about what the person next to me will think about me. And that somehow alters you from really being you … because you only do what you think will please them.

Then I grew up *yeah, I did, mature and all + hot too … hehe* and discovered that what makes you happy is not necessarily what makes the person next to you or the people in your life happy. You could be doing what gets you to smile or laugh to rib aches, but the person next to you could be getting irritated like you wouldn’t want to imagine. How can we be so differen’t?

Sometimes we try so hard to … to make everyone around us be pleased with what we’re doing, who you are … and sometimes it just doesn’t move them, worse yet, they don’t even don’t realize your effort.

My take, as long as you do your best in whatever you do, the right time, right place and the right way then it shouldn’t really bother you who your pleasing or not, because it’s either they like it or they don’t … and there’s only so much you can do. I mean there some people who don’t like you just based on how you look or how you dress. If you change and try to be who they want you to be, then you’ll lose who you are and confuse those who loved you for who you genuinely are. As a result, please all = please none!

Ok, it’s good to suck up sometimes to get what you want in life *read sometimes*, but to suck up and be who that person who you’re sucking up to wants you to be … then you’ve just lost the plot all together. What if they don’t even like ‘the sucking up’ you, if you know what I mean. I hope I made some sense right there. In short, don’t lose who you are, in the name of pleasing someone else. If they don’t like you the way you are, pull the “moving on swiftly” move, it always works … and chances are that this person will be impressed and actually like you for who you are. If you’re confident in yourself, then it automatically trickles to the people around you, and they will think the same of you.

When we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

I love this quotes;

“There comes a time when you have to stand up and shout: This is me damn it! I look the way I look, think the way I think, feel the way I feel, love the way I love! I am a whole complex package. Take me … or leave me. Accept me or walk away! Do not try to make me feel like less of a person, just because I don’t fit your idea of who I should be and don’t try to change me to fit your mold. If I need to change, I alone will make that decision. When you are strong enough to love yourself 100%, good and bad – you will be amazed at the opportunities that life presents you.” ~ Stacey Charter

“I don’t know the key to success, but the key to failure is trying to please everybody.” ~ Bill Cosby

Deuces!

Signing Off ~~~ *Kawi*

5 thoughts on “Please all = Please none

Leave a Reply

