Pete Says ***

Jagshemash!

The idea to guest post here came about during a random chat with Kawiria. Having recently discovered this blog, I immediately liked the cheerful, full-of-life style she invariably has in her posts. In fact, the TGIF [T_IF for the atheists] posts are totally un-friggin’-missable for me.

Well, I primarily blog on The Walkabout. In addition, I do have other blogs viz: Complit Design, Green Initiatives, Connect eMagazine and the latest Pete R Njenga on Books.
That said, my post today will simply touch on things that I hold dear. That is learning, sharing, music and something that Kawi’s name exemplifies – happiness. 

Learning and Sharing

I write a bit, but read a lot more. It is through reading that I get to learn the most, inasmuch as there is a lot to learn from what we hear, see, or otherwise experience. Reading has always been a way to discover new things, to visit new places, to learn more about ourselves… just wallowing in the beauty of the written word can be orgasmic [no, I ain’t talking about reading erotic stories]. Reading is simply awesome.

It so happens that every once in a while, I encounter some written stuff that is so good to keep to myself. That is where the need to share kicks in, since only through sharing do we add value in others’ lives. In the timeless words of one Carlos Castaneda,

 Once awareness is free, intent will redirect it into a new evolutionary path.

For this reason, I’ll share with you something I once read and found immensely profound. It is a small document that is aptly titled Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness. Published by the Acton Foundation for Entrepreneurial Excellence, it is actually a cautionary tale that is designed to help you rise above your instincts and urges, to begin a search for the life you were meant to live. Once you have abandoned a foolish quest for the ephemeral rewards of happiness, wealth and power, you can begin to look for your true calling on this earth…

Read more about it and download your free copy here [PDF, 344KB]:

Music

When it comes to music, I listen to a wide variety of genres. Music is essentially poetry that is enhanced with a tune for easier listening. One thing I purpose to do is to actually listen to the words I get to hear in music. This ensures that I never miss out on the lyrical insight that is often present in many songs.

To this end, I’ll share one of my many favorite songs, titled In Repair, from John Mayer’s Continuum album. This song is a constant reminder that we are in a perpetual state of amelioration, on our way to success, attainment, deep satisfaction and fulfillment.

♪ I’m in repair, I’m not together but I’m getting there…♫

Here’s some more music that inspires yours truly.

Happiness

It goes without saying that this blog is a happy place. Kawi has gracefully made it so, who are we to question that?
I’d however be remiss if I didn’t ask, What is the difference between happiness, satisfaction and fulfillment? Even more interesting, are you pursuing sensual pleasures and material success for the wrong reasons? It is my hope that you find your answers here:

Dziękuję!

*********************************************************************************************

I don’t want to spoil the post, but having readers such as @peternjenga is quite an inspiration for my new *not so big* hidden talent. Thanks mister, I’m grateful and keep up the good work you’re doing!

Signing Off ~~~ *Kawi*

3 thoughts on “Pete Says ***

Leave a Reply

