Nostalgia Is …

Remembering how my dad would baby sit us. Well I’m 8 years older than my baby sister so technically I’m the “BOSS” he he. I am the one who baby sitted my baby sister most of the time, just think lots of singing. Considering I can’t sing to save my life, I now think that’s why she used to laugh all the time *face palm*. I don’t even know what has driven me to back in time. When my mum was a nurse (actually she still is) only more managerial hehe so no night shifts and what not. Then, she used to do night shifts, so you can imagine what every one dreads, like baby crying at night, needing to be fed, diapers changed, to be lulled to sleep … yeah, my pops was a master of that. And he would still go to work the following day. I think he enjoyed every bit of it, I could feel it don’t burst my bubble…lol. At least at no point has mum ever told me he complained and she’s a chatter box like me.

My best part of all this is when he would lie on the couch and make me a small space when he folds his legs, and I would call it my small house. We would watch news together in as much as I was totally clueless on what was going on and just stare at the images, but what I enjoyed the most was the small house.

Then a couple of times, circumstances such as mid day snacks on weekends when some hunger has checked in and house-help is nowhere to be found. He would be forced to prepare a meal for us and for some reason I only remember rice and scrambled eggs. There was once he made mandazi’s with fish fillet in them, I ate so much till I got constipated … ha ha that’s a story for another day, but in summary, he had to deal with it…oi!

Anyway, I was just having a nostalgic moment. I usually have a couple of those. My dad has done (still is doing) the best job ever, and the thought of it just makes me happy that I think the world of him. He’s a bright shining example and a happy twinkling in my heart. I always pray that the man I get will be a good father to our children too. To me that’s more than a huge blessing!

It’s only when you grow up, and step back from him, or leave him for your own career and your own home – it’s only then that you can measure his greatness and fully appreciate it. Pride reinforces love ~ Margaret Truman

Signing Off ~~~ *Kawi*

2 thoughts on “Nostalgia Is …

Leave a Reply

