Back to Basics

I’ve always had an issue when it comes to doing accounts, finance and any other related courses. This I will blame the first lecturer who was supposed to teach us the introduction bit of the course. This is how it was done, “By a show of hands who did business education in high school?” We had just completed our O’ Levels and had just joined college, you know the one that your parents use as a means of keeping you off the hood *read boys*. Anyway, so a couple of students actually like half the class put up their hands. I was one of the few who had done music (yeah, I did music as an elective, I always wonder what I was thinking when I was choosing it by the way). So you can imagine I had no slightest idea what accounting is all about.

So he goes ahead and says, “That’s a majority, the rest of you will learn from your friends, so we can start from chapter 3 or so…” O_O basically after that statement, I zoned off. Spent the rest of the semester complaining how I wasn’t getting a thing in Accounts, not that I was doing anything to better the situation. By the end of the semester I was still as green as the first day. I would ace other units, but this one I was a few marks shy of a 0. I’m not bad in math, if anything I’m fairly good *not toot toot’ing*. So it was a shock when we did the exam and voila … Fail! I almost got a heart attack though, you know how you think you’re smart and you just can’t fail? It doesn’t work like that.

So when I was re-sitting the paper, I just decided to actually put some serious effort and read for it. I started from page one of that Frank Wood Accounting Book. Yes page 1, considering I didn’t even know what credit and debit was (technically) and why and where they are placed on the balance sheets. As I went on reading, the more I read, the easier it became. Once I understood the introduction bit, everything else sort of became a breeze. I felt a tad bit stupid because I could have just done that in the beginning (but I didn’t). No wonder people do college before campus, you need to go through these stuff, because after that failing has never been an option. I’d rather crack my head reading even the last-minute than fail an exam. It’s too embarrassing, and I have an ego to protect (the genius one…lol).

As unimportant the beginning seems in many things in life, the ‘what is’ part of many things is what actually determines whether you know what you’re getting yourself into or not. What is it is that constitutes that thing, the definition of those things and how or when they are to be used. You will find that what you learn in the introduction stage, is what you will more or less use all through the course. The small terms that you thought to brush off are the ones that will keep popping up here and there *credit this, debit that* and if you get that bit wrong, you’ve messed up the whole solution and that’s how you fail.

That is life, it may seem difficult, you might try here, there or even do nothing then in the end you just fail. Failing is not only about getting an ‘F’ here, it could be so many other things on so many other different levels. Failing also doesn’t mean it’s the last lap and all is over and done, no, there are re-sits, which are more like second chances to prove to yourself and to others that, “errmmm that was just a misunderstanding”. To prove that you’re better than that, you’re smarter than that (in my case), that you just slipped/tripped but you can get yourself up and do something about it. Sometimes what we need is to go back to the basics because without the basics, you’re as good as nothing.

The solution to a problem, always starts from those basics, they are the ones that help you derive a formula. Actually, they are the ones that make up that formula. So if you don’t understand them, then what problem are you solving? That’s how we find ourselves stuck in the middle of something, using the wrong formula’s to solve a problem or mixing up the formulas whereby for this problem you use a formula that could be used to solve another one. Uh oh, the tangles, the getting mixed up, the confusions, the wondering why the variables are not fitting in. Solution, always go back to the basic even when you think you’re too grown up for that. You will be surprised at how things that seem to be complex are just a combination of basics.

Be young and don’t be afraid to start. Starting over is not a bad thing, if anything, it’s refreshing and you get a chance to spot what you had missed out or fix what had gone wrong because sometimes you do figure it out.

Signing Off ~~~ *Kawi*

10 thoughts on “Back to Basics

  1. Good post! Rings very true in my case – I’ve spent the whole semester doing a ton of research trying to look for solutions to this problem at the highest possible (which is honestly quite superficial) level but recently I’ve been thinking that a better approach would be to go back to the beginning analyze the root causes then proceed from there…

    Like

  2. I wish to hear you sing someday 😉 Anyway, i’m glad to get a tip or two to help me through college, so when i find myself on a tight rope, i’ll recall Kawi’s words: back to basics…

    Like

  3. this post just speaks 4 me word 4 word.in my case the lecturer jus decided to leave his calculations halfway.kufloat daro nayo the whole sem. I got back 2 Frankwoods and other books 4 the basics.( 4 compulsory units didn’t really give me much choice) eventually accounts became cool.

    Like

Leave a Reply

