Happy Birthday Mum

Oh yeah today is my mum’s birthday and I’m thinking, “I had almost missed it”. I have to explain this scenario because it was hilarious. So we are in a meeting with my colleagues and we’re talking about careers and how one of my colleagues is in the medical field but she quit after some hear-wrenching experience during the 1998 bomb blast. And am here, saying how my mum is in the medical field and I think she’s been through it all but she has a deep passion for it. Basically she’s the family’s go to person when anyone has any problem health related and non-related, because she’s also a psychologist…yeah I know, she came as a full package.

So as we continue talking and am saying how I think being in the medical field is a calling, I look at the calendar on my laptop just our of the blues (1/10/2013), and I almost get a mini heart-attack…lol. Yeah, my colleagues asked me, “are you  ok, anything wrong?” and I go like, “crap, it’s my mum’s birthday and I almost forgot.” Of course I do the necessary, which in my opinion is one of my roles as a first-born. Call my dad to remind him. He never remembers any, whose dad does anyway? He deserves a trophy just for that. And here, we girls expect our boyfriends to remember every date, birthday, anniversary and so on. All the best, or just get kids (daughters) and have them be your reminders ideal solution for the men out there.

So, after making the necessary calls, I call my mother dearest. To give her the biggest hello and happy Birthday. And guess what? She had also forgotten it’s her birthday…hehe. That’s a win on my part, because then thank God the day had not passed and she won’t catch a feeling. So I’ll definitely make my arrangements to make her day beautiful via my sibling and dad. Then my part comes in tomorrow.

Mum, Happy Birthday

Happy Birthday Mum

She turns 55, but you would never guess that’s her age, that’s a challenge to me. That no matter how old you are just keep your heart and spirit young and that’s just how you’ll turn out. Don’t let the complexities of life pull you down or make you feel any less. You are stronger than you know. She is the most amazing woman I know, how she juggles her roles is what totally gets me. She’s a super mum, best friend, doctor, teacher, nanny, chef, care taker, organizer, super wife and the list goes on.

I am who I am today because of the disciplines and lessons she has instilled in me and I thank God everyday for her. I hope she lives to see me and my sister get married and have kids, so that she can be able to take care of them just like she does us. I hope and pray that the clinic she is starting up, which is her current dream and desire, comes up, starts running and she can reach out to the community at Kahawa Wendani. Oh, if you live in that area, you’ll have the best clinic in your neighborhood, will let you know when you can start visiting.

Otherwise, this is the woman who means the world to me, Cla (baby sister) and my dad. Yeah, life would be upside down without you. You should see how everyone gets jittery when you say you have to travel, even if it’s for a few days. I hope I get to be half the woman you are when I become a mom sometime. I love you!

Signing Off ~~~ *Kawi*

6 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Mum

  1. thanks swtht.am flattered n glad to know have done some work.yes,am very ready for my grandchildren n will baby them,nature them n spoil them crazily, but word of advice,bring them while my eyesight/earing fuculties r still intact.hehehehe, love u.

    Like

  2. I simply want to say I am just all new to weblog and seriously loved this blog. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You definitely come with good writings. Cheers for sharing your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

