Friday Fives

Thank God It’s Friday … Whoooptidooo! Friday excitements! It’s 18th January and clearly the days are not moving. Whoever said January has 90 days, you know something we don’t. I’m not complaining though! When February comes, I grow a year older and am not getting any younger *that’s been followed by a sheepish smile*. Been a while since I did a Friday post, let me break that chain. That would be a bad habit to carry in to the new year no?

So, how’s your Friday coming along? Have some unexplained excitement like me? Is the month dragging for you as well? Are you eagerly waiting for pay-day? Any of your friends getting hitched soon? Any birthday’s coming up? Are you alive, health and happy (even if it’s just for the moment)? Am sure there’s a YES for at least one of those questions!

TGIF, Friday

1. Oopsies!

Had the most random weekend last week, on Saturday I finally went to watch The Hobbit.  A.W.E.S.O.M.E movie.  So much for wondering what the fuss is all about, especially that I wasn’t a such a die-hard Lord of the Rings Fan, don’t judge me though am sure am not alone here. Plus I have not read the book. However, I have a question. Am I the only one who gets fidgety when watching movies especially in the theatres. I feel like the sits should have been a bit bigger and cosier. So am always shifting siting postures, removing the goggles, putting them on, looking for something to eat and so on. Then when I look at my neighbors, they’re all seriously concentrating O_O

On Sunday, I was supposed to go over to my cousins for a family meeting, then a friend calls that they need help. The help involves me, getting dressed up, made up and looking all diva’ish. Yes, I looked so glamorous it felt weird…lol and lots of poses and clicks. Felt like a model for a moment and so different from my usual self, it’s crazy! Don’t think I can rock that look though unless am invited for another random shoot and Muthoni does it for me again, it’s not an easy process. Can’t remember the number of things that I was applied, but it was fun. Once I get the pics, I’ll share. This one was from my phone so it does no justice to how I was looking.

make-up, Muthoni Njoba

Me in make-up courtesy of Muthoni

2. Weekly Crackers

Of bread and getting mold after it’s just stayed for a few days. We actually did an experiment and found out that, super loaf still holds the medal on keeping it fresh all week. All this other new brands of bread have got nothing on it. So if you’re a bachelor/spinster and it takes you a week to finish a loaf of bread, go for supa loaf.

Supa Loaf, Bread

LOL

3. Faves and Craves

Two more weeks to my (our i.e. the mister and I) first birthday together…’yaaaay n yikes’. You know the usual, what to get, what to do, where to go? That’s what I’m thinking. And one of my close friends wedding, which comes the following day after our birthday, cringe! Let’s just stay, I would like to see how we will handle this one, juggling events.

Cadbury, Chocolate

But who would mind some Friday chocolate? I mean anything to make a day a bit sweeter. Stolen this image from the Cadbury page, how can they make me salivate so early. I saw this before 8:00 am.

4. Stupendous Snippet

Read this on one of my friends Facebook status update, “Its funny how situations make us feel like the grass is greener elsewhere, whilst the grass that we’re not watering is what we had earnestly asked for because it used to be the greener grass that we’d eyed ages ago when we didn’t water the grass that we’re now seeing as greener!”

Grass, Greener

Grass seems greener on the other side, until you get there and you have to maintain the greenness!

Confusing huh, but makes so much sense. How we don’t put an effort into making better what we have. Then we look at other people and think wow, they have things going for them. Nothing comes easy, even when from the outside it looks like someone is having it easy, they’re are going through their own struggles to get there, they’re putting in effort to have things going for them. So in as much as the grass awlays looks greener on the other side, know that there’s someone watering it and maintaining it. Such that if you got that green grass you admire, you also still need to maintain it. Working at it and for it *whatever it is that makes you feel like you got it* never stops!

5. T.G.I.F Inspiration

Faith

To more laughing, living and loving. Let your weekend be nothing short of interesting, blessings!

Signing Off ~~~ *Kawi*

5 thoughts on “Friday Fives

    • Hehe that’s an added advantage you know, knowing where I sit and all. Fab-ruary is the month, it’s gotta go well. Thanks for the compliments there 🙂

      Like

  1. I always get so fidgety at the movies as well…and start looking around at people only to find them deeply concentrating. Heheheh direct translation much? ‘Can’t remember the number of things that I was applied,” siwezi kumbuka vitu nilipakwa 🙂 But I guess that the full blown advantage of having your own blog as…it don’t matter. Have a superb day doll!

    Like

  2. Pingback: #TBT: Leftover Snippets. | Kawi Snippets

Leave a Reply

