My Father’s Day.

Happy Father’s Day. Let me tell you a little something about my Father, who I call Dad or Daddy (mostly when I need a favor, because it almost sounds like you’re saying it with a puppy face and battling eyelashes). First, he is the best dad I could ever have. He’s the epitome of cool, calm and collected, very easy going and not fussy about stuff (I mean, he’ll eat what we’re eating, watch what we’re watching, chill with us, fix stuff around, drink coffee – with no specifications on how it should be made). He speaks his mind and doesn’t sugar coat anything he says, which now makes me think he’s the most genuine person I know. Especially when it comes getting realistic feedback, he’s the go to guy. If it’s a yes, it’s a yes. If it’s a no, it’s a no. If it looks bad, then that’s what it is. If it looks good, he won’t give it to you in a golden platter, he’ll tell you in a sarcastic way, you have to have some humor to get it. There’s no in between. I think on that part, I took my mothers genes because I sugarcoat, a lot.

Well, when growing up, we had our best moments and not so best moments. There are times I thought, “how can dad say that”, “how can he refuse this”. Sometimes, I had ideas of what I want to do or where I want to go and he’ll blatantly refuse or give a reason that’s painfully true but not one you want to hear at that point in time. If not, he’ll give curfews or ultimatums, and it just felt like he just didn’t get me or he was being a bit too strict when other friends were having it much easier. Then later on in life, I look back and I appreciate all that. Strange. That’s the circle of life I tell you.

20140609-001837-1117442.jpg

The tough calls, the lectures, the pushing, all that made me who and what I am. I may not have much today (maybe I do, and I don’t know it yet), however, I know as I continue growing, I want to make sure the sacrifices he made (and continues to make even today) to ensure I (we) have it all, remain and continue being worthwhile. I can never repay him, I will never try to, because he’s playing his role right. I will reciprocate that love, that commitment, that sacrifice that he provides every single day and moment.

As his daughter, I know when all is said and done, he’s the one man that will always have my heart. Just seeing him smile, seeing him proud of us and letting him be, our dad. Thumbs up to my mum, your husband is a keeper.

Behind every amazing dad, is a mum that always backs him up (lesson learnt through a lifetime of observation).

On a lighter note, he’s a cap guy. He’s always in one every weekend. I bet you he’d be in one during the week if work allowed. Every time I ask him what he wants for his birthday, for Christmas, for Father’s Day, randomly, a cap is always in the mix. Though he always removes it on photos it so that we can see his handsome face – his words. Too fresh!

Now you’ll have a blessed week, won’t you? Love & Light!

Signing Off ~~~ *Kawi*

2 thoughts on “My Father’s Day.

  1. I am absolutely honoured to have met and interacted with your parents lots of times. I am very proud to say that I cannot count the number of times my husband and I told them what great parents they are. And your very modest dad always smiling away..almost like saying…”come on I’m just being a normal dad”. Those days when KIA was KIA “wink wink”

    Like

    • Hi Irene, on their behalf, thank you. I am glad to hear they inspire you like they do me. Dad is too humble…lol, and he’s such a superstar. Thank you for always dropping by and leaving a word or two, it such things that make me happy. Be blessed dear, and hi to the family.

      Like

Leave a Reply

