Thee Local Shepherd’s Pie and Snippets.

My colleague challenged me. She came with some good smelling delish food that looked like lasagna but it wasn’t (I think I’ll be obsessed with it until we prepare it). She educated me, it’s called a shepherd’s pie. Did you also know that the “ph” in shepherd is pronounced “p” and not “f”. English is such a complicated language, and my nursery teacher must’ve been saying it with the “f” because I can’t seem to get myself to say it the right way. Those are my problems.

Anyhow, when I went home, I was set that I’m making the Shepherds pie. And so I started the process. I was so psyched up, like you have no idea. The only problem is that the master chef wasn’t around (travelled for work), so I was doing it solo. And boy, oven things are not my strength. The setting of the heat degree (converting Farenheit to Celsius – or googling it), timing and how to heat it (top, bottom, both, grill). I felt like breaking down at some point. I felt like I’d gotten everything else right, except the most important part, the baking.

While I struggled with that process, I thought of life. First I was taken aback when I found out that Robin Williams had depression, I mean, the Mrs. Doubtfire (among many other hilarious comedies) guy. I had tried to read articles about it to understand what goes on some time back and the one that really explained it to me in a way that I deciphered what goes on was Hyperbole & a Half, here and here. I’ve seen it happen to some people close to me, so it’s real, not imaginary. What I always wonder is, what can one do to be there for someone? I get depressed to0 or experience bouts of sadness – but it’s hormonal – you know that time close to that time of the month. But at least I can get or talk myself out of it, but what about that person who can’t? What can someone do for them?

I digress. So back to the part where I thought about life as I baked away (that’s a good struggle by the way). In life, there are things that you totally get right. Especially things that’s you’re already used to. You know those things that come easy for you – yeah you know them – I would compare it to a meal you love cooking, you have it on your fingertips, you can even cook with your eyes close and still get it right.

On the other hand, you’re faced by things that make you feel like you’re totally doing it wrong. Leave alone getting it wrong, because you don’t even get it in the first place, this can be frustrating. This could be like cooking a new or unfamiliar meal. One that you even had no idea existed, so you have to skirmish your way through learning how to do it. Chances are that you’ll be hard on yourself with the outcome. You’ll feel like it’s not good enough, it’s not that sweet enough, it doesn’t look so appealing, maybe others won’t enjoy it. And so is with many things in life. Especially those that don’t come to you easy.

Just when you think you’re getting it wrong, you’re probably getting it right. Just that you’re intimidated by that wrong feeling that you miss out on what’s going right. We really cock-block ourselves sometimes, it’s a matter of believing in yourself, hard as it is.

Ever felt like that? That’s exactly what I felt about my Shepherd’s pie. But I believed in myself and ate it with so much pride and carried it for lunch. I don’t think I did such a bad job, it was edible and tasty too. Now that I think of it, I’m looking forward to dinner and to having the master chef taste it too (and give his verdict). Except that my potato cover didn’t brown, it yellowed (with very faint shades of browning) *sob* that’s all I was waiting for. There’s something about browning and success in baking.

Recipe, Shepherds Pie, Cheese, Minced Beef, Food, Kenyan Foods, Mashed Potatoes

See ingredients below

Ingredients

  • Potatoes
  • Minced Beef – More like the way I made it here.
  • Vegetables – 1 Green Pepper, 1 Tomato, 1 Onions, 1 Carrot – you can add peas, corn, mushrooms and so on.
  • Spices – mixed Spices, Black Pepper, paprika, royco, cayenne pepper, soy sauce, garlic.
  • 2tbs Butter
  • Salt
  • Shredded Cheddar Cheese

Procedure

  1. Pre heat the oven to 200o
  2. Dry fry the minced beef with the spices.
  3. Mix the potatoes and mash them with butter, milk, cheddar cheese and garlic until soft.
  4. Combine the meat and vegetables and spoon them into a square baking dish.
  5. Cover with potato mixture. Bake for 30 min or until it starts browning.
  6. Shred the remaining cheddar on top of the cover and bake it for 10 mins, it’ll look like it’s bubbling, cue to remove it.
  7. Remove it from the oven and let it cool for about 5-10 mins. Then serve.

You can totally try it out and tell me how yours turns out, I challenge you. Happy Friday loves!

Signing Off ~~~ *Kawi*

4 thoughts on “Thee Local Shepherd’s Pie and Snippets.

  1. Pingback: Thee Local Lasagne | Kawi Snippets

  2. Pingback: #TBT: Leftover Snippets. | Kawi Snippets

Leave a Reply

