This Is My Confession.

*Cue in Usher – Confessions* I unashamedly forgot my blogversary! 5 years down the lane. Told you I’m really bad with dates, so bad that I keep getting panic attacks that I’ve forgotten some important date, like someone’s birthday, an anniversary or even a deadline. Thank God for planners and reminders. Not that I effectively utilize them either, so another thank you to family & friends who have an amazing memory of all things relevant. The relief that I get when I confirm that I’m still within the time is inexplicable. But all in all, on time or not, it’s better late than never. I think that’s the life saver quote of all time “better late than never”, the moment you say that, no one’s got anything on you. So today, I celebrate my 5 years of blogging *cheers to that*.

Blogging for me, serves as an avenue to relay my thoughts – mostly based on my experiences and life lessons. Not that they are intense or anything, but they’re worth sharing anyway. I think everyone needs that, and most people do it in a way that best suits them, whether through writing, art, music, service, or just being you.

Just the other day, I was thinking of how competitive we humans are. So competitive that we forget the essence of who we are, what we do or why we’re doing it in the first place. We get misguided as we try to figure out or pursue our purpose because we base our abilities on what the people around us are doing or worse yet, have. So it becomes, “but first … let me see what my neighbor/friend is doing, then see how I can do it better.” Rather than, “this is my thing, let me see how best I can do it.”

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying competition is wrong. I’m just saying if competition is the basis of how good you are or how good you can be at what you do, then that’s the problem right there. I won’t lie, that I’ve not been a victim of comparison from a competitive level. Sometimes I look at my blog here and I’m like, “so and so is pretty good at it”, “so and so’s blog is doing pretty well from the looks of it.” And somehow, a special kind of pressure checks in and I feel the need to do the same or try do the same in a better way, but that’s not my way. So I talk some sense to self and so far I haven’t yet succumbed and that’s what kept me going all the years, just in case you were wondering. No hiatus. I know where I want to get with it, can’t say baby steps anymore, I mean, 5 years down the lane?

Current Situation: Hanging out with a bunch of clowns who totally make my days when I’m with them. Leave days do rock! Oh, I also celebrated my 1 year work anniversary too (on 16th Dec) at Chase Bank. I kid, not celebrated per se, but that’s a tiny victory considering I never envisioned myself in banking 1 year go. And this channel (blog), that I shamelessly undervalue most times, heavily contributed towards leading me – smack in – right there.

Friends

(Clowns from extreme front to extreme back) Dion, Flo, Kawi, Lon Jon. Hubby and Homies!

 

Signing Off ~~~*Kawi*

 

Leave a Reply

