Guest Post: Never Taught in Class.

Post by Samuel Muthomi a.k.a Dj Somi.

When Kawiria asked me to be a guest writer, I was gobsmacked because I’m a big fan of Kawi’Snippets (Stupendous Tidbits).  Her blog has been an inspiration to me and many others. Sharing her life experiences made me realize that it is sharing ones weaknesses that helps other people in their need, not your strengths. I hope to share some of my life experiences that you will never be taught in any class.

Guest Post


Humility Makes you Grow.

Humility sets one on the path to success. Pride will keep one from growing, because one is not willing to learn. Let’s get one thing clear, no one has it all together! I have been successful on the academic front, not because I was the brightest student in class, but because I was willing to learn. If you humble yourself, you become teachable because you are willing to learn.


Remember Pleasant Memories. Forget the Rest.

We can never reverse the past. Sometimes with hindsight, there are things one wishes they had done differently in life. At one time or another in life, there is someone who has deeply hurt you. Learn to let go because regret and resentment doesn’t hurt anybody but you. Learn to forgive others even when they do not deserve it. Be grateful for the good in people and choose to remember the good things about people, the good times and the positive experiences. Pleasant memories are a choice; do not dwell on the negative memories.


Make a Difference. Give.

It is the smallest gesture or thoughtful assistance that makes the biggest impact. My folks have taught me to be generous even when you don’t have plenty to give. My folks came from humble begins and the little that God has given them, they have used to educate a lot of people and help others set up their own business. It feels one with so much joy when you assist someone and help them realize their potential and fulfill their purpose in life. When God gives you the vision, he gives you the provision for it. My vision this year was to start Kipaji Agency Limited and help nature talent. I hope I can make a difference in people’s lives.

Guest Post


Good Friendships Take Time.

To build a good relationship, one needs cultivation, work, and time to build a deep connection with someone. Every deep connection requires communication, commitment and companionship. You don’t need many friends to make it in this world, but a few good friends. Focus on having good (quality) friends not many (quantity) friends.


Serve Other People.

We are God’s stewards and God does not give us gifts, talents and abilities for our own benefit. Our gifts, talents and abilities should be used to serve other people. I’ve always had a passion for music and deejay’ing but I’ve learnt over the last one year, that God didn’t give me my artistic ability just so i can enjoy it. It took me a couple of months of soul searching for me to realize my vision and dream of music being an avenue of service others. Ubantu Festival was thus birthed as a celebration of the historical, cultural, artistic & philosophical legacies of Africans from past times to the present.


Integrity is the Key to Leadership.

The big things in life do not create a good leader. Living a life of integrity doesn’t mean perfection, we all stumble at times. Leadership is built on the small things of life. Our integrity will be tested in our homes, relationships, work place e.t.c. A politician who lies to his wife will lie to his constituents. That is where ones leadership is tested in life. Ones private integrity (behind the scenes) choices of life, makes one a great leader.

Guest Post


Short Term Thinking Robs your Future.

Short-term thinking is one of the great weaknesses of today’s culture. It reminds me of the trending socialites who rob their future to enjoy today’s fame. A person who focuses on short-term gain is doomed to fail. It reminds me of my school mate in Lenana who went into a life of crime after finishing high school and is now serving life imprisonment at Kamiti. Short term thinking sets one up for years of un-payable debt to future generations.


Signing Off ~~~ *Kawi*

3 thoughts on “Guest Post: Never Taught in Class.

  1. Reblogged this on Life on This side of The Sahara and commented:
    The end of 2014 is nigh and it’s hard to resist the urge to reflect. Don’t resist it. A life examined is a life well-lived so do not be afraid to look back at where you have come from. It opens your eyes.

    One of my really good friends, Sam, wrote this piece full of nuggets of wisdom that he has picked up on his journey of life. Small truths that make all the difference in the world. Hope you like it as much as i did.

    It’s the little things in life that make all the difference. Enjoy…

    Like

Leave a Reply

