Holy Guacamole.

I know there are those dips that look like they’re so easy to make. Not they’re actually difficult to make, but we underestimate the ingredients at first glance. That was me and guacamole. Every time I saw it being served, I was like, ‘it’s just chopped avocado with tomatoes and onions.” But wait a minute, they just don’t cut them up and mix them up in the bowl and then it’s ready to eat. I realized that when I decided it’s about time I made it. Mainly because I had a healthy avocado waiting for me to eat it and I just didn’t want to do the usual plain old Avocado. So off I Googled for the “guacamole recipe” from Food Network. Oh boy, it had more than 3 ingredients, and that’s why it deserves a post.

Ingredients.

  1. 1 Avocado – halved, seeded and peeled
  2. 1 lime, juiced
  3. ½ teaspoon table salt
  4. ½ medium onion, diced
  5. ½ teaspoon cayenne and black pepper
  6. 2 tomatoes, diced
  7. 1 clove garlic, minced.

Guacamole, Recipe

Method.

  1. In a large bowl place the scooped avocado pulp and lime juice.
  2. Drain, and reserve the lime juice, after all of the avocados have been coated.
  3. Add the salt, cayenne, black pepper and mash.
  4. Then, fold in the onions, tomatoes, and garlic.
  5. Add 1 tablespoon of the reserved lime juice.
  6. Let sit at room temperature for 1 hour and then serve.

20141216_175913

20141216_180146

Serves best as a dip for Tortilla’s. Or as a side-dish for meats, such as pork roast. Also, I think you’ll enjoy the video below. Especially when you think how much we struggle to cut out watermelons and waste a chunk of strawberry or peel oranges and remain with the white part. Now you know, may your fruit peeling and prepping role be much easier and fun.

As you go back to work, I get 2 weeks leave. Such a steal *woop woop* doing my happy dance right about now. Have nothing short of an awesome week besides it being “back to school, work, hustle or all the above.”

Signing Off ~~~ *Kawi*

2 thoughts on “Holy Guacamole.

  1. I really enjoy your food recipes. They all look delish btw. I only know how to make Asian cuisine, so this is such a great help. Thank you! Oh, and I’ve always wanted to make guacamole but had no idea how. Now I know. Yum, it looks easy to make.

    Like

Leave a Reply

