Bacon Egg Muffins.

Being the 1st week back to work from leave didn’t make the week any easier. On day 1, I was on the “I woke up like this … flawless” tip. After that, it’s like the week was on steroids. The one thing I was really looking forward to doing at the end of the week was sleeping in on Saturday morning. And that I did. As I was lazing around and doing my internet rounds, I landed on @Lamzana’s breakfast, Bacon Egg Muffins and it was calling out for me. Since it was my “bring brunch to bed” day and the ingredients were the usual, I was like why not. Not the healthiest of choices, but a little indulgence is great for the soul. Here goes the recipe.

Ingredients.

  • 6 slices of bread
  • 6 eggs
  • Slices of bacon – 400gms Collar Bacon
  • Shredded cheddar cheese
  • Thyme
  • Olive Oil

Method.

  • Preheat the oven to 200o.
  • Set the heat come from the top burner only. It cooks better.
  • Heat a pan on medium heat and cook the bacon for about 4-5 minutes. So that it becomes a little flexible as you place it on the muffin cup. While the bacon is cooking, cut our circles out of each slice of bread. I used a circular cup since I didn’t have a cutter. The extra bread could be binned, since it’s more or less the edges. But if you feel guilty, you can apply some butter and eat it.
  • On the muffin tin, brush each cup with some olive oil – for greasing purposes.
  • Then lay each circle of bread into the bottom of each muffin cup and on each sprinkle a layer of shredded cheddar cheese.

Bacon Muffin 2

  • Wrap the bacon around the edge of each muffin cup – this was actually the hardest part – but just be smart about it, make sure it forms a crater in the middle.

Bacon Muffin 1

  • Crack an egg into each cup. To make it easier, I cracked the egg into a glass first then poured it into the muffin cup.
  • I  added a dash of thyme on each cup to give it some flavor.

Bacon Muffin

  • Bake them for 10-15 minutes or until the whites have set and the yolk is cooked.

My biggest fear was for the egg to be runny – eek! But luckily, it was well-cooked, and I followed instructions to the dot. I served it with fresh juice and a fresh fruit, at least to balance off healthy and unhealthy portions. But I don’t think it makes difference, maybe just for your conscience.

Tasty Delights, Bacon Egg Muffin

We shared with our lovely neighbors because trust me, self control is a bit difficult when you have a combination of bacon, egg and cheese staring at you, waiting to be devoured. You just want to eat one, then another one – and the next you know you’re looking at an empty tray and imagining the calories. Basically, sharing is not only caring, but healthy.

Happy cooking loves!

Signing Off ~~~ *Kawi*

 

Leave a Reply

