What Kind of Reader Are You?

Every time I walk into the book store with the aim of getting myself an interesting book to read, I am hit with a serious wave of confusion, and I mean, absolute confusion. I almost feel like a child who’s walked into a room with a display of assorted candy and has been asked to just choose one. What does the kid chose the candy based on; is it the packaging, the flavor, the ingredients, the placement or what their friend told them to try out?

Book Store, Books First, TRM

Location: Books First, Nakumatt, TRM.

Save for the times I have all the information I need; the book genre, writer and title, which are rare. There are times I just want to go see what’s there and make a random pick. At one point I want this, the next, I have seen something else that might seem more interesting. Only to read the synopsis and think, nah nah! And then go back to what I’d once picked and reconsider, but I still want to see what other options are there. It’s complicated. It’s worse when I have tagged someone along, because I seem pretty uncertain about what I want.

Choosing a book to read is such a serious affair for me, and to date I still haven’t quite identified a solid formula to do so, because there are way too many books and amazing writers out there. Besides the few tactics I use; waiting to see what a friend is reading and their verdict on whether it’s a good read or nah; Reading the synopsis of the book – and trying to evaluate its level of captivation based on that little description back there; and skimming through reviews by other readers to see what they said about this book, hence why I eventually started the book review section.

I’m not a complex reader per se, and by that I mean you won’t find me reading biographies, Sci-Fi’s or ones that narrate historical events et al – they tire me out. I know people who swear by them, it’s quite remarkable, and respectable too. At one point my concentration span goes to zero, and I can barely read past a line on these books. I re-read and it just doesn’t make sense any more. Actually, that was the reason I had stopped reading for a while, because in as much as I enjoyed reading, I hadn’t figured what kind of reader I was, and if I had, I wasn’t I confident enough. So I would struggle to fit in with the ‘geniuses’, because those are the books they would talk about and recommend as intellectually stimulating. You just look like a smart ass holding one, leave alone reading. It’s laughable now, but that struggle was real. I tried, I really did.

Well, I came to realize that I’m shamelessly more of an easy-reader and a fun-chaser when it comes to my choice of books. I love stories, stories of any kind, especially ones I can relate to. Those that are at least closer to the reality of what people go through in real-life. Those are the kind that appeal to my reading palate.

What kind of reader are you?

My last visit to the book store had me torn between Let It Snow: Three Holiday Romances by John Green, Lauren Myracle, Maureen Johnson and The Color Purple by Alice Walker. I chose the latter, but since Christmas is around the corner, the former might just be my next read to get me umped for the season.

Signing Off ~~~ *Kawi*

6 thoughts on “What Kind of Reader Are You?

  1. I am more of fiction that is full of suspense and drama. Especially crime-solving novels otherwise if i want to refer and get sentiments of any book i lean on The Saturday Daily Nation on the Literary Discourse section. It has never failed me.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Book Review: The Color Purple By Alice Walker | Kawi Snippets

  3. It’s actually funny, i’m one of the one’s who read historical books; talk about world war’s, dictator’s, civil war’s and especially my obsession hitler. What he did to the Jews is so demonic and it has brought an understanding of Jews to me, I wouldn’t have got if I never read about it. Interesting thing is I can’t read stories they bore me so easily.

    Like

Leave a Reply

