Who’s Your Favorite Superhero? #MashujaaDay

The other day, I was asked me who my favorite superhero is; I was taken aback for a moment there. I couldn’t remember who my favorite superhero was. Maybe because I have never declared before that I have one (never thought about it), or the fact that I would enjoy the films and reading the comics, but I wasn’t quite sold out to the idea of superheroes. Perhaps, it’s also because I struggle to understand what the term ‘superhero’ means. Growing up, it was about a magnanimous fictional character or individual that possessed superhuman abilities and was devoted to save the world against crime; Superman, Spiderman, Catwoman, Batman, and the likes.

SuperHero

Now, I understand it was all but a fallacy and so, I still never bothered picking a favorite out of them. Today, we have a public holiday to celebrate Mashujaa Day which was previously named Kenyatta Day. It’s a day that honors the heroes and heroines who fought for our independence and freed us from colonial rule way back in 1963. Well, many of us might not be able to relate to that because we were not there to see it happen, but it’s a big deal, because it’s part of the Kenyan history, and the reason we are today, as a country and as citizens. Some people put themselves in the forefront to fight for us, to fight for our future; they didn’t know you or me, but they put it upon themselves to ensure that we’re free to exercise our rights and look at us now. It could have been different, but they ensured it wasn’t. And we celebrate them.

Bringing it closer home, there are those people we interact with every other day, they put themselves at the forefront for you. They go out of their way to ensure that you’re fine even when they don’t need to. They celebrate with you, laugh with you, cry with you, they just generally have your back in every situation. They look out for you, stand by you and fight for you, because they love you and they feel that it’s their responsibility to ensure that life is treating you well – because life comes with its surprises; one day it’s all fun and dandy, and the next day, it might just take a turn. These uncertainties of life are made bearable by the people around you, the people who directly impact your life. And it’s never easy. It requires some effort, some sacrifice, some patience, some courage, some wisdom, but mostly, a big heart will get you by.

Today, I take a moment to celebrate those people. I mean, I may not say or show it every day, but when opportunities like this come along, I grab them, so that I don’t make it awkward for us. To the world you may not be a hero, but to me, you’re the greatest heroes. And we celebrate you.

So if I’m asked who my favorite superhero is once again, I’ll be spoilt for choice because there are too many of you out there. Disclaimer, if you saw a snapchat (the new Social Media thing that all the cool kids are on, and I’m not) out there with me having dumbfounded moment, now you know what was running through my mind.

“Keep smiling, keep shining; knowing you can always count on me; for sure, that’s what friends are for. For good times and bad times; I’ll be on your side forever more. That’s what friends are for.” ~ Dionne Warwick

Happy Mashujaa Day to you!

Signing Off ~~~ *Kawi*

Leave a Reply

