Hobbies That Didn’t Come Naturally.

Remember when you would be asked to state your hobbies, back when it was a thing? I still hadn’t figured myself out and so I would just pick out the most common ones, being traveling and reading. Which truly, I didn’t do much of earlier in life or if I did it, it was never really voluntary. I was mostly forced by a circumstance. Whether reading because in school you must read or rather cram to pass your exams, or travel because the school had organised a trip or you had to go upcountry to visit the grandparents.

I was never much of a traveler or a reader, and in as much as it comes naturally to many, it didn’t to me. Especially travelling, I know it’s one of those exciting things and it’s quite embarrassing to admit. It’s just not in me to wake up one morning and decide I’m going here and there. If anything I’m quite comfortable sitting on the couch over a good book or movie. And it’s not because I don’t like the adventure, I think it’s the fear of the unknown that overwhelms me, or the fact that I am a bit risk averse. I don’t know what we’ll find there, or whether where we are going is much better than where I am coming from or how the journey to that place will be. I mean, what if something happens on the road – my mind boggles.

John Green, Maureen Johnson, Lauren Myracle, Let it Snow, Holiday Romances

You do not travel if you are afraid of the unknown, you travel for the unknown, that reveals you within yourself. ~ Ella Maillart

Thankfully, since I discovered this side of me, I made conscious efforts to ensure that what I used to state as my hobbies actually became one.

The easier one was reading, since the only thing I have to do really is buy the book and commit some time to actually open it and read it. And since I’m a lover of stories, there’s no better place to get them than from a book, and that’s how I started reading for fun. The last book I was reading ‘Let it Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle‘ where each of the authors shares a romance story that occurs during the Christmas Holidays as a result of a train wreck during a snow Storm. They’re all in the same area code, but at different times and for different reason unknown to each something occurs. And in the end the dots eventually connect. It’s amazing how the six degrees of separation is actually too real. It really amazed me when at one point I share the exact sentiments with one of the characters (like in the image above). From the stories, in order of how I liked them, it was Lauren Myracle, Maureen Johnson and then John Green’s.

Travelling, it didn’t come easy, still doesn’t. But when an opportunity presents itself, despite me questioning all the possibilities, nowadays, I jump on it and try to say yes before saying no. I’m not the most adventurous or spontaneous person as I might seem to be, but luckily I’m surrounded by people who embrace that and I get dragged into it more often than not. Top of the list being my husband and I’m still learning to enjoy being out there more than I am in my little space, because it’s through travelling that you discover what the world has to offer and the beauty it actually holds. And the adventures gives you a sort of adrenalin that you can’t quite comprehend, and once you get into it, you just want to do more of it.

Travel, Sunrise, Mombasa Road

In 2016, I’m looking forward to reading more and traveling more because I know these two are the recipes to enhancing my craft in more ways than I can imagine.

Also today happens to be my mothers Birthday, so I’d love to take this moment and give her a massive shout out via the inter-webs, “Happy Birthday Mummy, you know it’s hard to say how much I love you, so let me just show it every other day.”

Happy Birthday Mother, Wedding, Bride, Mum

Have a great week ahead Snippers’. Also, the book was an interesting one to read, you can grab it for yourself if you want a book that will make you feel feel warm and fuzzy on the insides.

Signing Off ~~~ *Kawi

Leave a Reply

