What’s not to Love about Love?

I hope you had a great weekend? Mine was beautiful, because it ended beautifully. I spent Sunday with family (aunties, uncles and cousins) kicking stories and catching up on the latest over food and beverages. I was hosting them for the first time in our house and it feels so warm now. I was so ecstatic knowing that everyone felt at home, and that no one lacked a seat, a plate or a spoon – LOL, but that’s for the next post.

Potluck Cupcakes baked and brought by Kangai

Some yummy chocolate orange and orange with orange buttercream frosting cupcakes baked and brought over by my cousin Kangai of XOXO Baked Indulgence.

I keep professing how I am a love child, because we have been raised in an environment where there was, and there still is, so much of it to go round. Like it was never awkward if I was the first one to say ‘I love you’ in a relationship as long as I actually meant it, because I imagined that it needed to be expressed when felt or better yet, experienced. Thing is, I don’t think too much into it, unless of course I feel like the love is not being reciprocated. Then I begin to wonder if I am way ahead of my time.

Over time, I have come to realize that for me, love is more functional than it is touchy feely. Of course the touchy feely bit needs to exist for it to be a different kind of love (romantic), but it doesn’t take precedence over the functionality of it. Besides the bible version of love (1St Corinthians 13: 3-8), which states the values/principles that define what love is – patience, kindness, forgiveness, politeness, generosity, trusting, hopeful, persevering, long-lasting,  not jealous, not boastful, not proud, not egoistic, not humiliating, and not snappy – I believe it’s one of those things that are better expressed through deeds rather than words.

And that’s why I think that one day is not enough to show someone how much you love them. You could get flowers, chocolates and many other material gifts that make one feel special on the day – which I actually don’t mind because that’s a beautiful gesture – but what’s the need to pamper someone on that one day when the rest of the days you’re douchebag to them? Get my point.

I feel that when it comes to expressing this love, it’s a continuous act that needs to be done every chance you get and deliberately while at it. Because there are so many times when you don’t feel like doing it – like you don’t feel like being nice or being all those things mentioned up there, but because you love this person, you intentionally choose to for instance, forgive, be kind, be patient, be trusting with them and so on. It’s a resolve you make every single moment you have. Love is definitely not a fairy tale with a damsel in distress being whisked away by a knight in shining armor – because that’s just one moment. Love is never-ending, and it’s work, a lot of work. If you’re not ready to do the work, then woe unto you.

Every day you wake up, make a vow to yourself that you will give love, so much love until you have no more love to give, because loving is living. You might feel like you don’t have much, but if you have love, I think you have more than enough.

You will find that the people with this kind of love are happy souls with great energy and are exciting to be around. They are the same people who are genuinely happy for you when great things are happening in your life and who will encourage you when things are not looking up. You could be that person, and when you find your kind, keep them and show them the same kind of love, if not better.

❤ Happy Valentine’s Day ❤

Signing Off ~~~ *Kawi*

4 thoughts on “What’s not to Love about Love?

  1. Thank you for such a wonderful post, again Kawi. Love…for a romantic like I am, I want Prince Charming weeping me off me feet every day. Im such a dreamer who often dreams of the impossible 😊 your insight about love is so mature.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re most welcome Amy. And thank you for always passing by. I remember you sharing the same sentiments a while back – of you being a hopeless romantic…haha. It’s beautiful to dream of the impossible and I hope and pray you’re blessed with that kind of love – the seep you off your feet kind. I think it does exist, because we can create it, especially if you’re with someone who shares the same vision and feelings too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

